Table Saw Dust Collection Concept

The Rockwell 10″ Contractor saw I own has an open frame and an external motor hanging off the back, making efficient dust collection an issue because controlling the airflow is next to impossible.

I have a friend with a similar saw on an open frame, but his saw’s motor is more contained, so he doesn’t have the challenge of  plugging a hole that allows the motor to pivot as the blade is tilted to make a beveled cut.

I may still try to close off the cabinet and plug the holes to set up a more traditional dust collection arrangement, but I have an idea I’d like to try out first

Here’s what I’m thinking: I might be able to get effective collection by attaching a “fender” of sorts around the blade under the table. If I attach this fender to the arbor assembly (similar to how I have mounted the riving knife) then I can keep it in close proximity to the blade, which should make for very effective dust  collection.

I made a concept drawing in Sketchup to work through some kinks in my mind:

I like the idea, but I still need to figure out if it will be practical to mount this to the arbor assembly to have it move vertically with the blade, or if I should just attach it to the horizontal rails so that it will tilt with the blade and motor, but will not respond to the depth of the height of the blade.

I’ll keep you posted.

3 thoughts on “Table Saw Dust Collection Concept

  1. I have exactly what you designed – it does not work – reason – the port is too far away from where the blade comes in contact with the workpiece. Efficient under table dust collection is and has been a major issue for me. Right now, to me, the most effective dust collection would be to design an insert or throat plate with a port that attaches to a DC or shop vac. The port needs to be very close to the underside of the blade or one that runs the entire length of the plate. The shroud you designed will allow for dust to spill over the edges. Bring the shroud up as high as you can to the underside of the table, and design and drill an angular hole for an accessory port. I’m working on this and testing it now…
    cr

    • I suspect you’re right, with the concept as is appears, but the potential success is a function of two things: Fit and Suction. The tighter the fit and the fewer the gaps between the blade and the vacuum port, the more efficient the design and the less suction you need. I would make this system with as small of gaps as possible between the blade,the shroud, and the table top, but any inefficiency can be overcome with an increase in suction, which is a fun experiment in its own right, so I’m not too worried.
      Thanks,
      ~Andrew

  2. I am considering the same thing. Mounting on the arbor side flat (I have a craftsman) with a sleeve upper section to allow movement in both blade raises and angles. The upper mount would be flush with the top, then you have an accordion type material, then the lower hard section. I was also thinking of installing an air supply using tubing close to the blade tips to blow across the tips to blow directly into the vacuum port. Unsure how that would work, but time will tell. I would mount my port more like a cyclone type design, but enough suction anything would work….

Leave a Reply

